Who We Are

The Hedge Fund Association, HFA, is an International not for profit industry trade and nonpartisan lobbying organization devoted to advancing transparency, development and trust in alternative investments.

Membership in HFA includes hedge fund firms, global financial institutions with hedge fund offerings including private banks, asset management firms and broker dealers, investors including funds of hedge funds, family offices, public and private pension funds, endowments and foundations, high net worth individuals, allocators, and service providers including prime brokers, administrators, custodians, auditors, lawyers, risk managers, technologists and third party marketers.


Mitch Ackles
Ron S. Geffner
David Friedland
Executive Director and Secretary
For media inquiries, please contact: 
Mitch Ackles of Hedge Fund PR
Phone: (646) 657-9230

HFA Directors

HFA Directors 2014-2015

Representing Hedge Fund Allocators:
David Friedland, Magnum U.S. Investments
Evan H. Katz, Crawford Ventures
April Rudin, The Rudin Group
Michael Scanlon, AiCE Group - Silver Leaf Partners
Don Steinbrugge, Agecroft Partners

Representing Hedge Fund Managers:
Tony Acquadro, BTS Asset Management
Joseph DeMatteo Sr., JDM Capital Corp.
Frederick Pye, Landry Investment Management
George Schultze, Schultze Asset Management
John Taylor, White Oak Global Advisors

Representing Hedge Fund Service Providers:
Mitch Ackles, Hedge Fund PR
Joshua Blumenthal, Rothstein Kass
Ron S. Geffner, Sadis & Goldberg
Richard S. Heller, Thompson Hine
Sal (Kislay) Shah, McGladrey

"Thought Leader Council Chair"
Joshua Blumenthal, Rothstein Kass


Regional Directors

Northeast Chapter Director
Sal Shah, McGladrey

New York Chapter Co-Directors
Mark McGoldrick, Concept Capital Markets
Greg de Spoelberch, Opalesque

Boston Chapter Director
Robert Sawyer, Foley Hoag

Southeast Chapter Director
Thalius Hecksher, Apex Fund Services

Midwest Chapter Director
Joel M. Schwab, HFR, Inc

Southwest Chapter Director
Diron Tappin, 4Peaks Capital

Latin American Chapter Co-Directors
Juan Garrido, BBVA
Les Baquiran, Alpine Capital Advisors

Brazilian Chapter Co-Directors
Marcia Rothschild, Citibank Latin America
Otavio Vieira, Fides Asset Management

Chilean Chapter Director
Juan Luis Rivera, Moneda Asset Management

Colombian Chapter Director
Daniel Osorio, Andean Capital Management

Argentinian and Uruguay Chapter Co-Directors
Martin Litwak, Litwak and Partners, International Lawyers
Michelle Furnari, LatAm Alternatives

Peruvian Chapter Director
Carlos Rojas, Andino Capital Management

Panama Chapter Director
Jose Abbo, FX Valores

Founding Director of Latin American Chapter
Victor Hugo Rodriguez, LatAm Alternatives

Cayman Islands Chapter Director
Christina Bodden, Maples and Calder
Colin Nocholson, KPMG

Southern EU Chapter Director
José Castellano, Pioneer Investments

China Chapter Director
Adam J. Steinberg, Weber Shandwick (China)

Shanghai Chapter Director
Yiming Di, Morgan Stanley

Korea Chapter Co-Directors
Raymond Kang, Prodigy Capital Management, LLC
Robert Kim, Alternative Summit Korea

Australia Chapter Director
Adriana Kostov


Advisory Board Chairs

Regulatory & Government Advisory Board
Richard S. Heller, Thompson

Business Development Advisory Board
Gabrielle Guttman, Connext Consulting Inc
John Maddente, Baker Tilly


Northeast Region Advisory Board
Evan H. Katz, Crawford Ventures, Inc.
John V. Schrier, Caceis (USA) Inc.

HNW Advisory Board
April J, Rudin, The Rudin Group
Avi Sharon, Blackstone
Hannah Shaw Grove, HSGrove

Academic Advisory Board
Keith Novick, MJK Consulting Inc.